The power of Cooperative

Dedicated to bettering the lives of our members and community since 1938

Started with 228 families, and now serving more than 52k
  • Established in 1938

  • 12 counties served

  • 129 employees serving

  • Nearly $71 million in patronage funds made to members

  • Over 36 years of opportunity for youth leadership

  • 2167 students awarded educational scholarships

  • Nearly $1.6 million in college scholarships awarded

Our Mission

Our mission is Improving the future for all of us in South Mississippi. Our first step, bringing safe and dependable energy at lowest possible cost.

The Cooperative Difference

We operate on seven distinctive principles

Voluntary and Open Membership

Democratic Member Control

Members’ Economic Participation

Autonomy and Independence

Education, Training and Information for Members

Cooperation Among Cooperatives

Concern for Community

There are several programs you may benefit from as a residential and/or commercial members. Learn more about member programs.

see member bylaws

Our Operations Statistics




Total Miles of Lines


Total Meters Served


Meters Per Mile of Line


Full-Time Employees

Board of Directors

Adam Bass

District 2

B. F. Hudson, Jr.

District 5

Danny Wilks

President, District 1

Davis Wingo

District 7

Hugh Gene Smith

District 3

Jack Bradshaw

District 4

Jeff Tinnon

District 8

Lavell Bond

Vice-President, District 9

Leslie Peters

Secretary-Treasurer, At Large

Matt Thomas

District 6

Association Managers

Key Personnel
Matthew Ware

CEO/General Manager

Dana Monk

Manager, Administrative Services

Erik LaVine

Manager of Engineering and Operations

Jody Thornton

CFO/Manager of Accounting & Financial Services

Keith Armstrong

Manager of Purchasing and Facilities

Leif Munkel

Manager of Marketing, Communications and Member Services

Gerald Williamson

Columbia District Manager of Operations

George Cutrer

Hattiesburg/Purvis District Manager

Billy McCrary

Wiggins District Manager

Anthony Harris

Manager of Economic Development and Community Relations

Lawrence E. Hahn


Topp, McWhorter, Harvey

CPA Firm

Join the Family!

At Pearl River Valley Electric Power Association, employment is more than just jobs and benefits. To make our business successful, we know that it takes a combination of great people and ideas to create the rewarding environment that makes PRVEPA such an exciting place to work and grow.

Read more about our cooperative and job opportunities here.

Annual Meeting

Pearl River Valley Electric Power Association's Annual Meeting is held the fourth Saturday of September each year. Activities at Annual Meetings include election of directors and reports related to Association-related business. Several months prior to the meeting, information will be provided in Today in Mississippi.

If you cannot attend to the annual meeting, you may send in a proxy or absentee ballot. Absentee ballots are mailed to members' residences, along with an official meeting notice, several weeks before the Annual Meeting. All members are encouraged to vote in their director elections.

Upcoming Meeting

September 28, 2024

Location: Pearl River Valley Electric Meeting Facility, 1428 Highway 13 North, Columbia, MS 39429

Registration will begin at 9:30 a.m., and the business meeting begins at 10:30 a.m.

News & Press

Got Questions?
We have answers.

Our help center is here to help. Check information about getting started as a new member, special programs, energy saving, safety, and a lot more.

Visit The Help Center